LesCitesdOr.com
MCoG 1
MCoG 2
MCoG 3
The manga
The film
The video games
NAEZ
Files
Lyrics
Season 1
Season 2
Season 3
Season 1
Season 2
Season 3
Origin
Legend
List
Retailers
Quiz season 1 part 1
Quiz season 1 part 2
Crossword 1
Crossword 2
Puzzle 1
Puzzle 2
in french
Presentation of the series (1983) - The Mysterious Cities of Gold

[ Presentation ] [ Deyriès and Chalopin ]
[ Haïm Saban, Shuki Lévy and Noam Kaniel ]
[ The script ] [ The staff ] [ Dubbing ]
[ Scott O'Dell : The King's fifth ]

First draw of Esteban and Zia The Mysterious Cities of Gold series has been aired for the first time in France on September 28, 1983 at 4.28 pm (!) on TV channel Antenne2 (now France 2). The show was "Recre A2", presented by Dorothée, who was very famous at this time. More than twenty years later, nobody has forgotten the universe of Esteban, Tao and Zia and the series is still broadcasted in many countries (see music and videos sections). What can explain such a success that has surprised even its creators? At that time, Jean Chalopin had created his own production company DIC, in Tours (France). For cost reasons, he decided to go to Japan and took with him Bernard Deyriès and his designers. There, in co-production with the Japanese TV channel TMS, they began to produce Ulysse31 in 1981, which was a huge success.

The young Zia One year later, the Japanese want to continue their collaboration with Bernard Deyriès (as director) and Jean Chalopin (as producer): the Mysterious Cities of Gold series was born! This project was proposed by the Japanese TV channel NHK. In The Mysterious Cities of Gold series, the quest for (Esteban and Zia) father appears again, as in many other animes produced by Bernard Deyriès (remember Ulysse31, Jayce and the Wheel Warriors or The Twins of Destiny series).
The project is divided equally between the Japanese, who brought the idea, and the French who are responsible for the realization: they suggest the characters to be more "european", as can be seen with the features of the characters! As a result, the series will experience a mixed success in Japan, where is is known as Taiyo no Ko Esteban: Esteban, Child of the Sun. [Ko: child; Taiyô: sun].
Bernard Deyriès will also cause changes in the technology of the Solaris and the Great Condor, and suggests to use solar energy.

The Mysterious Cities of Gold - First draw of the Great CondorThe Mysterious Cities of Gold - First draw of Solaris
First draws of the Great Condor and Solaris
They are many reasons for success in Europe. Particular attention is given to drawing: the landscapes, faithful to the 16th century, and the characters. The artistic director is Mitsuki Nakamura (who is also responsible for the design of ships and the Great Condor) and the creator of the characters is Toshiyasu Okada. Apart from the visual aspect, the soundtrack which ponctuate every important moment of the series is just amazing, with more than thirty titles (see Section music section). The music composers are Haïm Saban and Shuki Levy.
Do not forget the documentary at the end of each episode, which makes this series unique. They allowed us to learn more about the pre-Columbian culture and (in my case) were the source of my passion for the history of these civilizations.

The cartoon is based on the book by Scott O'Dell: "The King's Fifth" (1966) but there is little connection between this book and the series. The Mysterious Cities of Gold series relates the adventures of Esteban, a young Spanish orphan. He sails for the New World in search of his father but his fate is tied to the secret Incan Cities of Gold. En route, he meets Zia, a young Inca girl kidnapped by the Spanish and Tao, the last descendant of the prestigious empire of Hiva (Mu in French). The story obviously takes place during the Spanish conquest (16th century) and we can (re)discover the Inca, Maya, Aztec and Olmec peoples. The atmosphere is stunning and the landscapes are faithful to many archaeological and historical places (eg. Chichén-Itzá). During the latter part of the series, with the arrival of the Olmecs, science fiction is slowly replacing the historical reality.

[ Next ]

[ Presentation ] [ Deyriès and Chalopin ]
[ Haïm Saban, Shuki Lévy and Noam Kaniel ]
[ The script ] [ The staff ] [ Dubbing ]
[ Scott O'Dell : The King's fifth ]

Page updated on: 02.03.2017, 4:09 am
1,370,211 visitors
911 the last 24hrs
Last update
02.17.2017, 2:58 am

Imprint
Sitemap
Hit-Parade
Routard 2000-2017: LesCitesdOr.com
Routard 2000-2017 - LesCitesdOr.com

LesCitesdOr.com
MCO 1
MCO 2
MCO 3
Le manga
Le film
Les jeux vidéo
NAEZ
Fichiers
Paroles
Saison 1
Saison 2
Saison 3
Saison 1
Saison 2
Saison 3
Origine
Légende
Liste
Boutiques
Quiz saison 1 partie 1
Quiz saison 1 partie 2
Grille 1
Grille 2
Puzzle 1
Puzzle 2
en anglais
Les Mystérieuses Cités d'Or - Présentation de la série (1983)

[ Présentation ] [ Bernard Deyriès et Jean Chalopin ]

[ Haïm Saban, Shuki Lévy et Noam Kaniel ] [ Script ]

[ Staff ] [ Doubleurs ] [ Scott O'Dell : La route de l'or ]

[ Celluloïds ] [ Conan ] [ Projet de jeu sur PSP ]

Dessin prototype d'Esteban et Zia Les Mystérieuses Cités d'Or ont été diffusées pour la première fois en France le 28 septembre 1983 à 16h28 (!) sur la chaîne Antenne2 (devenue France2), dans l'émission "Récré A2", présentée par Dorothée. Vingt ans après, personne n'a oublié l'univers d'Esteban, Tao et Zia et la série est encore rediffusée dans de nombreux pays (voir les sections musiques et vidéos). Qu'est ce qui peut expliquer un tel succès, qui a même surpris ses concepteurs ? A cette époque, Jean CHALOPIN avait créé sa société de production DIC à Tours. Pour des raisons de coût, il décide de partir au Japon et emmène avec lui Bernard DEYRIES et ses dessinateurs. Là-bas, en co-production avec les japonais et la chaîne TMS, ils commencent par produire Ulysse31 en 1981, qui connaît un immense succès.

Zia jeune Les japonais veulent poursuivre l'aventure et sollicitent à nouveau, un an plus tard, Bernard DEYRIES (réalisateur) et Jean CHALOPIN (producteur). C'est de là que vont naître les Mystérieuses Cités d'Or, projet proposé par la chaîne japonaise NHK. On retrouve dans les Mystérieuses Cités d'Or le thème de la quête du père, cher à Bernard DEYRIES (que l'on retrouve dans Ulysse31, Jayce et les conquérants de la lumière et Les jumeaux du bout du monde).
Le projet se partage pour moitié entre les japonais, qui ont apporté l'idée, et les francais qui sont chargés de la réalisation : ils "européanisent" le dessin animé, comme on peut le voir avec les traits des personnages de la série ! De ce fait, d'ailleurs, la série connaîtra un succès mitigé au pays du soleil levant, qui sort sous le titre "Taiyô no Ko Esteban" : "Esteban, l'enfant du soleil". [Ko : enfant; Taiyô : soleil].
Bernard DEYRIES sera aussi à l'origine des modifications de la technologie du Solaris et du Grand Condor, qu'il oriente davantage autour du soleil.
Les Mystérieuses Cités d'Or - La première version du condorLes Mystérieuses Cités d'Or - La première version du Solaris
La première version du Grand Condor et du Solaris
Les raisons du succès en europe sont multiples. Un soin tout particulier est apporté au dessin, aussi bien en ce qui concerne les décors, fidèles à l'époque (XVIè siècle), qu'aux personnages. Le directeur artistique est Mitsuki NAKAMURA (qui sera aussi chargé du dessin des navires et du Grand Condor) et le créateur des personnages est Toshiyasu OKADA. En dehors de l'aspect visuel, les musiques accompagnant et rythmant chaque moment de la série sont elles aussi tout simplement époustouflantes ! Une trentaine de thèmes nous accompagnent tout au long de l'histoire (voir section musiques). Les compositeurs sont Haïm SABAN et Shuki LEVY.
Il ne faut pas non plus oublier les incontournables documentaires à la fin de chaque épisode, qui rendent cette série unique en son genre. Ils nous permettaient de nous imprégner un peu plus de la culture précolombienne et ont été à l'origine, en tous cas en ce qui me concerne, de ma passion pour l'histoire de ces civilisations.

Le dessin animé serait inspiré du livre de Scott O'Dell : "The King's Fifth" (1966) mais il existe peu de rapports entre ce livre et l'histoire du dessin animé. Les Mystérieuses Cités d'Or sont donc l'histoire d'Esteban, un jeune orphelin espagnol. Il va partir pour le Nouveau-Monde à la recherche de son père mais son destin est lié à celui des secrètes Cités d'Or incas. En chemin, il fera la connaissance de Zia, un jeune inca enlevée par les espagnols et de Tao, ultime descendant du prestigieux empire de Mu. L'histoire se déroule bien évidemment sur fond de conquête espagnole au 16ème siècle et de mythologie des peuples Inca, Maya, Aztèque ou Olmèque. L'ambiance est saisissante et les décors et temples sont fidèles à ceux que l'on peut par exemple voir sur le site archéologique de Chichén-Itzá. Durant la dernière partie de la série, avec l'arrivée des Olmèques, la science fiction remplace peu à peu la réalité historique.

[ Suite ]

[ Présentation ] [ Bernard Deyriès et Jean Chalopin ]

[ Haïm Saban, Shuki Lévy et Noam Kaniel ] [ Script ]

[ Staff ] [ Doubleurs ] [ Scott O'Dell : La route de l'or ]

[ Celluloïds ] [ Conan ] [ Projet de jeu sur PSP ]

Page mise à jour le 30/03/2017 à 13 h 11
1 431 368 visiteurs
448 depuis 24 h
Dernière mise à jour
03/06/2017 à 23 h 03

Mentions légales
Plan du site
Hit-Parade
Routard 2000-2017 - LesCitesdOr.com
Routard 2000-2017 - LesCitesdOr.com